Disturbing

  nn_todd_obama_090606_vsmall          I rarely address politics on this blog.

            This is not a political post. Really.

            But I am increasingly disturbed at the tone and language with which our President Obama is being described in the press and by those around him.

Exhibit 1: Evan Thomas of Newsweek (which is now by its own admission more opinion than objective news), trying to draw a distinction between President Reagan’s D-Day speech at Normandy and President Obama’s last week:

            Well, we were the good guys in 1984, it felt that way. It hasn’t felt that way in recent years. So Obama’s had, really, a different task We’re seen too often as the bad guys. And he – he has a very different job from – Reagan was all about America, and you talked about it. Obama is ‘we are above that now.’ We’re not just parochial, we’re not just chauvinistic, we’re not just provincial. We stand for something – I mean in a way Obama’s standing above the country, above – above the world, he’s sort of God.

 Exhibit 2:  After the Obama’s stopped for dinner in Paris at La Fontaine du Mars (again described by the  breathless press as a “romantic moment in the City of Lights”)  restaurant owner Jacques Boudon said,

            “I saw God before me, because I saw this smile that a million people have seen around the world.  I saw her (Michelle) radiant….It’s idiotic, but it’s like that.”

          Well at least I can agree with a couple of his last words:  it’s idiotic. 

 Just a couple of reminders from a more authoritative source:

            “I am the Lord your God….You shall have no other gods before me.”  (Ex.20:3)

            “How can I let Myself be defamed?  I will not yield My glory to another” (Is.48:11)

            “On an appointed day, Herod put on His royal robes, took his seat upon the throne, and delivered an oration to them.  And the people were shouting, ‘the voice of a god and not of a man!’ Immediately an angel of the Lord struck him down, because he did not give God the glory, and he was eaten by worms and breathed his last.”    (Acts 12:21-23)

 I know President Obama has not made these claims for himself.  I just think that it’s important to remember that taking the place of God or placing some mortal there is dangerous business.  Messing with God’s glory and primacy is not safe—for either presidents or peasants.

2 responses

  1. I have only one word – AMEN!!!

  2. It’s creepy. And this savior-language has been going on since before the election. Good points.

Leave a Reply

