What the Beach Whispers

walk on beach 2We spent last week on vacation at the beach in Florida.  One of my favorite parts of that sort of vacation is simply walking the beach.  There’s something soothing and soul-refreshing about the simplicity and solitude of walking with your feet in the surf. 

Usually, I begin the week by opening my heart to the Lord and asking Him to speak clearly to my heart in the days away.  For me, the break in my normal life rhythms enable me to tune my ear to hear the Lord’s voice more clearly.  Some significant life decisions have been made while walking the beach.

Some things the Lord whispered at the beach are helpful for all of us.  Here’s what I was reminded of:

+ It’s possible to clean up my daily mess every day.  People and nature leave their mark on the beach with things from popsicle sticks dropped by a child to crab entrails left by a gull. When the tide flows in at high tide and then ebbs back out with low tide, the beach is cleansed by the constant scrubbing of that tide.  As imperfect, messed-up people, we leave our own mark of selfishness, irritableness and more. But when we take time to be honest before the Lord an confess our sins, “he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”  (1 John 1:9) 

+ God’s faithful love is more constant than my little brain can comprehend. The waves never stop coming.  My eyes pop open in the morning and I hear the dull hiss in the background.  I go out in the middle of the day and there are waves.  I look out at night and can barely  make out the white foam in the moonlight, but still hear the hypnotic rhythm of the waves.  Constant.  That reminds me that “the steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; His mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning” (Lam.3:22-23) My Father “gives to His beloved in their sleep” (Ps.127:2). When it’s dark and when it’s light, when I understand and when I don’t, His love is there, the constant of my life.

+ There are things going on beyond what I can see. When the waves rush back out from around my feet, crabs scurry back into the water, tiny creatures burrow back into the sand and fish swim back with the outflow. When body surfing, I’m always aware of the fish (I hope!) I can’t see bumping against my legs.  That reminds me that there is a world of activity going on all around me that I never see with my physical eyes.  There’s God’s providence, providing for my needs like He does the sparrow (Matt. 6:26).  There are His sovereign purposes “working all things together for good” (Rom. 8:28), His wisdom, ordering all things rightly and more.  My God can make a way where there seems to be no way for “Your way was through the sea, your path through the great waters, yet your footprints were unseen.” (Ps. 77:19)

There’s a lot more, but those were just a few of the encouraging things the Lord whispered to me last week.  The thing is that He whispers to hearts in the rolling hills and meadows of central Kentucky just as clearly.  Listen…He’s speaking to all of us.

Leave a Reply

