Jesus, I Rest in You

cross 11Tim Chester pastors a network of house churches in England.  He often encourages his people to consider four liberating truths about God—truths that, if believed, foster joy and the abundant life; if disbelieved, they result in sin or loss of joy in the journey.

            The network shorthands these as “the 4 G’s”:

 

+ God is great – so we don’t have to be in control

+ God is glorious – so we don’t have to fear others

+ God is good – so we don’t have to look elsewhere

+ God is gracious – so we don’t have to prove ourselves

Each of those truths are worth meditating and praying over how fully they may define our moods, attitudes, thoughts or actions.

            Chester wrote a song– “Jesus, I Rest in You”  to teach the 4G’s.  Read and soak your heart on this. (One of the G’s gets two verses)

Weary of striving to make it alone,
fearful of failure or trying to atone,
I hear ‘It is finished’, Christ sits on the throne:
Jesus, I rest in you.

Weary of fearing what others may say,
needing approval to feel I’m okay,
when Jesus alone is the Lord I obey:
Jesus, I rest in you.

Weary of chasing the lies of this world,
finding its treasures an empty reward:
my beautiful Saviour, most glorious Lord,
Jesus, I rest in you.

Weary of needing to be in control,
brooding on worries, disturbing my soul:
the Stiller of storms who alone can console,
Jesus, I rest in you.

Weary of memories recalled with dismay,
burdened with guilt that I can’t sweep away,
when Jesus has cancelled what I could not pay:
Jesus, I rest in you.

            The music is here, or you can (sort of) use the tune of Just As I Am.

Leave a Reply

