A Ponder Slice (for the Lord’s Day, 02/07/10)

A Scripture to Ponder

      “Blessed are You, O Lord; teach me Your statutes!  With my lips I declare all the rules of Your mouth.  In the way of Your testimonies I delight, as much as in all riches.  I will meditate on your precepts and fix my eyes on Your ways….Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of Your law….When I told of my ways, You answered me; teach me Your statutes!….Put false ways far from me and graciously teach me Your law! I have chosen the way of faithfulness; I set your rules before me…I will run in the way of Your comandments when you enlarge my heart…and set my heart free!”   (Psalm 119:12-15, 18, 29-30, 32)

A Question (or three) to Ponder

          Do I delight in God’s word as much as all riches?  Why or why not?

          This week, to what degree have I made choices (that define my entire life) because I have fixed my eyes on His ways over my own?

           Do I sense  the wide-open, breath-deep, life-giving, heaven-laughing  freedom that only God’s truth applied can bring to a life?

A Prayer to Pray

             Father, You are a God who speaks.  You are the living Word who was before all things, spoek worlds into existence, called life from the dirt and who sustains all things.  You are the Word who became flesh and dwelt among us so we could see Your glory.  And your written word, in statutes, commandments, testimonies is  faithful and true. Help me love and live your word with delight, because You are my delight.  Through the name of Jesus Christ, the Word,  who lives and reigns with You, and with the Holy Spirit, one God forever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

