A Ponder Slice (for the Lord’s Day, 03/07/10)

A Scripture to Ponder:

            “the Son of Man must suffer many things and be rejected by the elders and chief priests and scribes, and be killed and on the third day be raised….Let this sink into your ears.  The Son Of Man is about to be delivered into the hands of men…      (Luke 9:22,44)

                When the tiime drew near for him to be taken up, he set his face to go to Jerusalem….  (Luke 9:51)

              “I lay down my life for the sheep…no one takes it from Me, but I lay it down of my own accord.”  (John 10:14, 18)

A Question to Ponder

            Jesus knew the horror that awaited befire He ever got to what we know as Easter week– and stepped squarely into it.  He was no victim, but a willing sacrifice.  How does that deepen your gratitude for the cross  and your salvation? How does it change the way you think about Easter?

A Prayer to Pray:

                  Jesus, You are Savior and Redeemer, Wrath-bearer and sin-substitute,  both just and justifer, the One who can bring me to God becuase you died once for all, the just for the unjust.  And you chose it all.  You chose the agony of separation from your Father, the beatings, the degradation and humiliation, the rejection and dismissal.  You chose it all– not just weeks in advance, but before the foundation of the world.  That stuns me speechless, “amazed in the presence of Jesus the Nazarene and wonder how he could so love me, a sinner, condemned, unclean. How marvelous, how wonderful is my Savior’s love for me. ” It is at every step, an astounding mercy, for which I am eternally grateful to You, dear Jesus, and so I cry thank you and Amen to your glory.

Leave a Reply

