A Slice of Ponder (for the Lord’s Day, 04/18/10)

A Scripture to Ponder:

        1Out of the depths I cry to you, O LORD!
        2O Lord, hear my voice!
           Let your ears be attentive
   to the voice of my pleas for mercy!

 3If you, O LORD, should mark iniquities,
   O Lord, who could stand?
4But with you there is forgiveness,
    that you may be feared.

 5I wait for the LORD, my soul waits,
   and in his word I hope;
6my soul waits for the Lord
   more than watchmen for the morning,
   more than watchmen for the morning.

 7O Israel, hope in the LORD!
   For with the LORD there is steadfast love,
   and with him is plentiful redemption.
8And he will redeem Israel
   from all his iniquities.

(Ps. 130, emphasis added)

 A Question to Ponder:

              Of the realities that are with the Lord– forgiveness, hope, steadfast love and plentiful redemption– which is most precious to you today? 

A Prayer to Pray:

                   Gracious Father,  you are so generous with your life and Your blessing.  The extent of your grace is more than I can conceive and more than I usually recognize.  So, I first confess my ingratitude which is usually born of inattention to the evidences of your grace.  I wonder how many times in an average day I avail myself of your hope, love and forgiveness?  It is a constant stream of mercy towards me, your child.  I am stunned that there is still, after all these years of drawing on it, plentiful redemption available for me and my sin.  Your gospel life is so huge and the credit to my account so staggering.  There is enough there to redeem every debt for now and carry me to eternity.  There is enough there to enable me to live, free and easy in your love, confident in your acceptance and certain of your hope.  So, today, Jesus, I thank you for plentiful redemption.  Help me live in astonished gratitude for the cross that accomplished it and the Savior who chooses it.  In His great and beautiful name, I pray yes and amen.

Leave a Reply

