Perhaps Today

Well, the day is here.  May 21, 2011.

Harold Camping says that based on his esoteric, numerologically-based calculations, using a formula only he understands,  sometime early this evening, Jesus will return
to take the true Christians away and start the ball rolling to end the world
entirely in the next 6 months. It’s been a topic for newscasts and blogs all
week.

Based on a number of factors, I think Camping is partially nuts and mostly a false
teacher at the head of a cult.  Mostly, I can’t get past what Jesus clearly stated: “But concerning that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, nor the Son, but the Father only.” (Mark 13:32)

But this has made me think of Jesus’ coming more than I have in a long time.

As a matter of fact, it has pressed me to realize a hollow gap in my walk with Jesus.  Even more,  it may have pointed out  a sin of omission I need to confess and repent.

Why do I say that? Because in the very next verses Jesus just as clearly commanded His people:

                        Be on guard, keep awake. For you do not know when the time will come. It is like a man going on a journey, when he leaves home and puts his servants in charge, each with his work, and commands the doorkeeper to stay awake. Therefore stay awake—for you do not know when the master of the house will come, in the evening, or at midnight, or when the rooster crows, or in the morning— lest he come suddenly and find you asleep. And
what I say to you I say to all: Stay awake.
(Mark 13:33-37)

He repeats it four times for emphasis: stay awake, be on guard.

And the simple fact of the matter is: I rarely am.  It rarely crosses my mind.

I believe fervently in the literal, visible, bodily return of Jesus.  I just don’t act like it very often.

So, this week, the thought has been playing around the edges of my mind. What if it were today?  Or, since that tends to have a negative spin, let’s state it more positively: perhaps today.  Perhaps today is the Day, the glorious appearing.

What difference would it make if I lived a perhaps today sort of life?  What priorities would rise? What would suddenly seem remarkably trivial?  What urgency would press me to action?  How much would the television be on?  What would I leave out or make sure were part of today?  How would I speak?  What would I do?  Would I feel regrets?  Would I sense more grief for leaving or joy for going?  Who would I call?

I think that awareness would change my life.  And  that’s a little of what Jesus means when he commands me to stay awake to this reality.

He is coming.

Perhaps today.

One response

  1. Lynn Mitchell | Reply

    Well said.

    Blessings,
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

