Where Am I?

For as long as I can remember, I have loved writing.

I still have wide-lined, fat pencil versions of 2nd-grade haiku.  I got Big Chief writing tablets for one Christmas gift and a thesaurus (which I still use) for another one.  Journalimg has been part of my devotional life for about 30 years.   When I began pastoral ministry, writing brief essays and articles for newsletters became a key means of fulfilling my call to “equip the saints for the work of ministry” and to make disciples of Jesus.

For me, writing has always been a labor of love.  I love choosing just the right words and phrases, painting pictures so the reader can come with me to feel, touch, taste, see, hear  a moment or engage a truth.  Most of the time, I try to find the small sliver of grace and gospel tucked into an everyday moment.

And it is, in many ways, a labor.  Prayer, thought and yes, pondering, give birth to creative expressions.  And on the other side, there is joy in what results, for me, and hopefully for somebody who reads along.

So, if it is such a joy and a love, why have I been so inconsistent with posts here in recent months?  Well, to put it mildly, life has gotten in the way. In recent months, my wife fell and broke her back and was essentially bed-ridden for almost three months.  My dad continues to wrestle with some stage of dementia, and since he lives a few hours away, I’m on the road  a lot to take care of his needs.  We’re also nearing the end of an 18-month process of preparing my parents’ homeplace and contents for auction. And like any pastor, like Paul  I can say  “Besides everything else, I face daily the pressure of my concern for all the [church]. ” (2 Cor. 11:28)

I’m not complaining, just describing.  God has been good, sustaining and utterly sufficient.  But many times, when I want to write, I find my soul is just weary or drained.  Creativity,  for me at least, requires at least a measure of soul space, and there has been a lot of clutter there.

So, I’m sorry for the inconsistency of new posts here.  I’d ask you who pray to to pray for me– mostly for love to serve well to those I love, for soul-space and a  refreshing of my creative heart.

I still love to write, and I hope to do more of it soon.

2 responses

  1. I do pray for you, brother. You’ve been a wonderful son to both your parents. You’ve been a great caretaker to your wife and God will give you some space to just be. He is so gracious like that.

  2. Dear David,
    My heart broke as I read your post… I’m so concerned about Paula’s accident. What is her prognosis? I know that she has suffered from a chronic painful condition for some time which grieves me. Is she in a lot of pain now? Did the spinal fracture cause any paralysis? Oh no, please Jesus! How is her healing process? I will pray for continued healing…
    So sorry to hear about your dad. I assume he still lives in Owensboro? Is the family homestead your home off of Booth Ave. near what remains of Mary Mitchell? Does this mean that your mom has already passed away? I have one brother remaining in Owensboro where he is Executive VP at that giant bank on Frederica Street. My other brother has been in Lexington since he went off to college in 1968. My mom lives there in her own home, but my brother takes good care of her. She will probably outlive us all…! My dad passed away suddenly in 2004 & the hole in my heart remains as I was and still am “Daddy’s girl”. How is your younger brother?
    David, I will pray for you. Having other friends who are pastors, I know that the job can be thankless. Praise God that the praise you seek is only from our Lord Jesus. May He refresh you
    with His presence and fill your soul with His Spirit-inspired creativity.

    I will always consider you as my friend. You played such a pivotal role in my young life and it is hard to forget a first love. Thank you for introducing me to James at that Chicago concert that summer of 1975. We are celebrating our 33rd anniversary next month in Ireland – God
    willing as I continue to struggle with my own health issues.
    May our Lord bless you and yours and may he restore your soul. One of my favorite CDs that I probably listen to almost on a daily basis is “The Hidden Face of God” by Christian composer/performer Michael Card. This and the CD by Rich Mullins that was published post-humously

Leave a Reply

