Return to Ponder-Land

            Well, school starts today in Shelbyville, so this seems as good a time as any to draw the summer Ponder Anew sabbatical to a close.

            Writing has been a part of my life and ministry for as long as I can remember, so I have really missed it. I have missed the joy of creativity: responding to the tiny inner voice that whispers, “write about this”, thinking through to the one tiny bud that has the potential to blossom, spinning words into sentences and paragraphs, polishing the sense and flow, and finally sharing it with others.  

            For me, writing takes time, along with inner space and quiet. And this summer found me in a season in which the cupboard was bare of all three.  There were external reasons—summer ministry busyness at the church, continuing care for my dad and other daily demands on limited time.

            But even more, there was just a jangling noisiness in my soul that led to a draining weariness. To put it another way, my heart was in a drought, cracked soil under  a merciless sun. It was tipping me towards cynicism rather than faith, anger rather than edification, fatalism rather than hope, isolation rather than communication.  For the first time, the blog felt like a snarling, accusing taskmaster to avoid, rather than a friend with whom you share a favorite song.

            And so, it was better to simply walk away and be quiet for awhile.

            Time, space and quiet (and mostly lots of rest and the Word of God) have done their restoring work.  The springs of creativity have begun to thaw and flow a bit.  My soul is in a sweeter place; the gospel is clearing the space. I want to share and engage again.

            This is the Lord’s good work of mercy:

“When the poor and needy seek water, and there is none, and their tongue is parched with thirst, I the Lord will answer them; I the God if Israel will not forsake them.  I will open rivers on the bare heights and fountains in the midst of the valleys. I will make the wilderness a pool of water and the dry land springs of water….that they may see and know, may consider and understand together, that the hand of the Lord has done this, the Holy One of Israel has created it.” (Is. 41:17-20)

            So, I’m back with these observations about “life at the intersection of grace and now”.  My goal is 2-3 posts a week – Monday, Wednesday and sometime over the weekend.  

            I hope you’ll join me in the conversation. Come ponder the gospel and life with me. I’m adding a question at the end of most posts that will hopefully spur your thoughts, so jump on in. Your perspective is an important part of the journey we share together. 

            Have you ever experienced a dry time in your soul where you needed to withdraw for a season? What helped the springs begin to flow in you again?

Leave a Reply

